Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

About a year ago and a half ago, I was out to dinner with Cameron (my boyfriend) at a restaurant that I had never been to before,it was a coney island. (click here if you don’t know what a coney is) Since I had been going to coneys since I was baby, and in high school it was regular hangout I have a go to meal. I got a Greek salad and spinach pie, I ate the spinach pie, then started eating the salad. That is when I felt that odd itchy feeling in my throat, and I started to get hives on my neck. So we dashed out to the car, and luckily cam had Benadryl in his car. This is the first time I realized I had food allergies that I didn’t know about.

It’s crazy how having one meal could change life so drastically. I went on a  4 month adventure trying to figure out what exactly I am allergic to, and a year after my allergen testing I still feel like I don’t know everything I am allergic to. It has been an unforgettable journey to get to where I am, it has been scary and exhausting. Luckily for me I have an amazing support system has helped me through all of this.

These are my allergens:

  • Soy (including soybean oil)
  • Peanuts
  • Tree Nuts (excluding macadamia, pecans, coconut, and pistachios)
  • Sesame Seeds
  • Stone Fruits (excluding cherries)
  • Avocados
  • Seaweed
  • Kale

 

I also have something called Oral Allergy Syndrome, and here is an article that best explains this. These are the food that affect me because of this.

  • Apples with the skin
  • Peaches
  • Celery (in large amounts)
  • Cantaloupe

I know that’s a lot, an it was incredibly overwhelming, but I got through it. There are a lot of other people who are going through the same thing, and I just want those people to know that it does get easier. It takes a while to get easier, but it really does. If you have any questions for me, just comment and I’ll answer the best I can.

-The Northern Belle

